Showing posts with label Running. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Running. Show all posts

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Short and Windy.

    I took a very short run yesterday.  Only a tiny bit over 2 miles.  I only had enough time to run just my training run, so that is all I did.  I normally like to complete the loop at the least, but I had to get to work.  the whole run went pretty well, even though it was exceptionally windy.  One point during the run it was windy to the point that I was having difficultly breathing.  I found it very strange.   The 1st 3rd of the run I had the wind at my back, however the remainder of the run, including the non-windy half of the lake, I was running into the wind.  Slowed me down a bit actually.  Over all it went quite well until the end of the run when my iPhone started shutting down every time I touched it.  I started freaking out a little, I was nervous that it was dead and I would have to purchase a new one.  I plan on buying the 5 when it comes out, so I am not too keen on buying the 4s before that.
     Today marked the 2012 Disney Princess half marathon at Walt Disney World Resort.  I hope everyone who participated enjoyed them self.  A non-runner friend of mine is actually down there with some friends of his that ran the race today.  I looked up their results and it looks like they finished!  I cannot wait until next year when that is me!

Just keep running!

Friday, February 24, 2012

and there be running

     After that strangely short declaration the other day I did in fact go out and run.  Nothing to write home about, but I got up and and I ran a 5k distance.  I also ran yesterday.  Another lake loop, which is exactly a 5k I have been lead to believe by both the published distances, the weekly 5k fun run (in which I have never participated) and what my runkeeper app on my phone tell me.  My average pace was 16min/mile on the nose, which is pretty darn slow, but also the exact minimum speed for my race next year.  I am more than sure that i will have no problem quickening my pace over the course of 12 months.  At this point my walk run intervals are a bit shorter on the running than I was capable last October, but I am positive I can both regain and surpass what I was doing before my unfortunate break from running.

     My unfortunate break from running was the result of hurricane Irene postponing my 1st race ever, the  Memphis soul BBQ 5k run (ran in Sommerville MA, not Memphis TN), an unfortunate 1st day in Washington DC and then "I do not have a job" depression.  The 5k was postponed until the 16th of October and it went really well.  I set a PR of approximately 00:41:40, according to my Runkeeper app, the race was chipped, but I never got the email they were supposed to send me, so I am using the time on my iPhone.  I got a nifty tee-shirt and a nifty medal (I'll post a picture later) and got myself some frozen yogurt.  About a week later I went on a DC trip with my parents (they like to take me on vacation and I adore the Smithsonian) And I was super jazzed about running around the national mall and then the 1st full day we were there I wore my shoe inserts that I had not really been wearing much since I started running and well, apparently my running shoes fixed my foot problems and the inserts did their best to mess with the muscles in my lower leg.  Simply walking was quite painful and running was out the the question for the rest of the trip.  I was disappointed beyond reason.  That helped fuel the  "I do not have a job" depression that followed.  Upon getting 2 part time jobs at the VERY END of November, I was less depressed but working a 60 hr week, leaving zero time for running.  I was lucky I had time for eating, never mind running.   Then came January and and a no more than 40hr work week and I finally had some time so I tried to run.  It went very very poorly.  My cool weather running attire was not 100%.  though everything was the correct size, my shirt rode up and my pants rode down more than a little bit.  I had also picked a day that the wind around the lake was insane and alone with a few other things all went to running hell.  I altered my running clothes to work properly and also grabbed over $100 in outer wear running gear at Kohl's for $65 (can we say wind breaker?) I finally got to go for a successful run.  it went alright and my time was okay all things considered.  I just should have brought my gloves.  Wednesday I started what is a 6 month half marathon for beginners.  I started a few weeks in to the program because that is where I am at running wise.  I do not have any plans for running any half marathons in 6 months, but I want to get to the point where I could run a half way ahead of my race.  I plan to then taper down and then continue training.  I plan to do a few 10k races maybe a 10 miler depending on what is available and what I am able to race in order to get a good pace time for the half next year.   Maybe in 2014 I will do the Disney marathon, but one race at a time.  
     I did not get to run today as it is pouring out, but I can get in a run tomorrow between jobs and then my long run in on Monday.  Weather channel app tells me it may be windy tomorrow, but otherwise clear through Monday.

Here is to hoping I do not fall off my training bandwagon in my 1st week!

Just keep running!

Monday, February 6, 2012

Declaration of running!!

This is a very quick declaration of running!  I have not REALLY ran since October 16th.  And i am about to do it now! I feel like I need to tell some one that so i will actually go out and do this.  Wish me luck all!  when i get back I will regale you with my failed running attempts over the last few months.

-I am out!

Friday, July 22, 2011

Running: hot and early

     Waking up early was not bad.  I have a weird internal clock, if I know I am suppose to wake up at a certain time I generally wake up then unless I am exhausted.  However when I feel stressed about waking up early I will generally wake up several times in the night to check the time and go back to sleep.  That said I woke up for 6 today with no problem.  Downed a few clif shot bloks an water (not too much) and got dressed and sunblocked-up.  Then I waited, and waited, and waited because my bladder apparently cannot make up its mind as to whether or not it is empty.  Finally upon setting out I realized that it was already pretty hot.  When I left at 8 am it was about 87F and at some point I checked while running and it was in the 90's with the heat index saying it "felt like" 101F.  I stopped looking at the temperatures at that point.  Today's session was week 5 session 1: run 3 minutes, walk 1 minute, repeat 10 times.  I did it, but I had to rest longer than 1 minutes a few times.  It was just too freaking hot to push it, and at one point I was just trying to find a water bubbler that actually worked and that took a few minutes.  One repetition from the end I had to just stop and sit, I might have just been standing I really can not remember.  I did not stop very long, but a passing walker stopped to ask me if I was okay.  I am quite pale so when I get flushed my face goes crazy red, I imagine that I looked like I was about to pass out.  I was not going to pass out, but simply trying to avoid getting to that point.  I then realized I only had one rep left and then just went for it to get it over with.  Afterwards I happened upon a picnic table conveniently located in the shade, it even had a breeze! (Being that I do not remember it from previous runs I am 1/2 convinced that it was a magical picnic table and it will be gone come my next run)  I just plopped down and sat for a while.  I know under normal circumstances your not supposed to just stop after running, but I figured that 100F weather warranted a nice sit down.   After a few minutes rest I continued on to the water bubbler that I know actually works, filled up my bottle and went on my merry way home.  On the way home I tryed pouring water over my head because of the heat, I have heard that helps, but I poured a bit too much and it ran sunblock into my eyes.  Very ouch!
     The over all run I feel went well, I kept up a regular pace and my form was pretty good.  My only difficulties were related to the heat and that could not be helped.  I definately ended up a bit dehydrated, but I was able to remedy that fairly quickly.  This being my first real morning run I now understand the need for sunglasses, and I will have to find some nice wrap arounds.  I am looking forward to the next session, which I have not been for a while now.  I have wanted to do them, but I was not excited about the sessions.  I feel that had more to do with outside forces rather than running performance, but it is nice to look forward to running again.
Just keep running!

Thursday, July 21, 2011

a week of rest.

    This week, starting last Friday, is a 'Recovery week' and it was quite pleasant.  Week 4 session 2 was run 3 minutes walk 2 minutes, repeat 7 times, followed by session 3 which was run 2 minutes walk 3 minutes, repeat 7 times.  (crazy i know!)  I guess I will not really understand how much a recovery week affects your running until tomorrow when I start week 5.  Any one watching a weather map would notice that New England is going through a bit of a heat wave, and from what the weather man on channel 4 (I usually watch channel 7 though) tomorrow, Friday is supposed to hit 100 degrees Fahrenheit.  I will again be attempting an early morning run meaning that I really do have to hit the hay super early tonight.  I am hoping that my run will be early enough that it wont be quite sweltering yet.  Having never ran in the morning, I have no idea how this is going to go.  I know your suppose to eat about 4 hours before you run, and hydrate about 2 hours before in order to be properly fueled and hopefully not have to use the ladies room. (which does not exist!)  If I get up at 6am and head out at 6:30am, the fueling timing does not exactly jive.  I am hydrating as we speak, in hopes that it works out.  I plan to down some clif bloks in the morning before I run for fuel.  I can only hope for the best and that if all else fails my trusty compression tights will pull me through.
     This past week, during my 'recovery' I really started to focus on what I am currently aware of as my 'running issues.'  I have determined 2 things I need to work on. 1. I run with my toes out a little some of the time. And 2. I have pacing issues.   I was actually informed of my stride problem by the nice woman who fit me for my running shoes.  It has been only the last few weeks that I have been really paying attention to it.  For all I know, I am completely messing myself up, but I have been focusing on walking and running with my feet straight.  At first it felt strange as if I were running with my toes turned in, but now it no longer feels that dramatic.  I think my turn out has a lot to do with my background in ballroom dancing.  Generally standing and moving in heels is much more stable with a turn out.  As for my pacing issue, I tend to fluctuate a bit too much.  Some times I start out way too fast, others I try to start slower and then speed up too much on the next repetition.  It wares one out.  In working on keeping a steady even pace I stumbled across my perfect pace (for the moment) and then found a meter for it.  I was running and found myself in this lovely pace and then Abba's Waterloo (in Swedish) came up on my iPhone.  The beat is exactly a perfect pace for me and if I am having pace difficulties I can just Que up this song and match the beat.  I am hoping that will help with my pacing.
     Well, I am off to have a slice of bread with some skippy (super chunk) and then off to bed.
Just Keep Running!

Friday, July 15, 2011

Weird week of runs...

     This was a off week for me.  I ran and got everything done, but it was a strange week.
Week 3 session 2 taking place on Monday instead of Sunday confused my week. and session 3 was as close to a disaster as could be at this point.
   Week 3 session 3, run 3 minutes, walk 2 minutes repeat 9 times.   So the actual running was fine, however a strange turn came when I suddenly had to use the ladies room.  A few weeks ago around the 4th of July there were several port-a-potties by the playground I pass running.  Now there was only one.  Now I must say that there is really no point in having them there at all if they are going to be constantly pad locked (I checked with a town employee, it is always locked).  I am not going into detail as to what I did upon determining the locked state of the portable bathroom, but I am sure eventually I will look back on this and laugh one day.   Needless to say, this event messed with my run.  I finished it, but it wasn't very pleasant a run.  I really must find a better hydration schedule.
     Week 4: session 1, run 3 minutes, walk 2, repeat 8 times.   Today's run was not terrible, just not great.  I had planned to try out running in the morning, but when I woke up at 6, and then 6:30 am I decided that it was cold and I was still tired and made the choice to stay in bed longer.  Ended up going on my run later around 5:30pm.  It went mostly well, but I was dragging the entire time.  I know the reason for this is that I went to the movies today and saw the new Harry Potter.  I also had nachos for a snack, and not much else to eat today.  This is VERY poor fuel for running.  I don't recommend it.  My running tights seem to be getting looser, which means I am ether loosing weight or wearing them too often and they are loosing elasticity.  I think it is the former rather than the later, but one never knows.
     Keep running!

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Compression tights, how do I love the? let me count the ways...

     Week 2: session 2, run 1 minute, walk 2 minutes repeat 10 times.  This walk/run was the inaugural run with the new running gear, and I have to say that I love compression tights.  Seriously, I probably have very little in the way of 'business wearing them' but that's not going to stop me.  I am just guessing here, but I think that the compression aspect is good for my knees.  It was over 80 degrees out while I ran and even though I know I was very sweaty, I didn't feel like they were plastered to me. (even though they were)  I felt probably as cool as a person running in 80+ degree weather with humidity to the point that it's raining just enough to be annoying but not enough to actually be cooling could feel.  The new top I wore was also very comfortable.  It is a racer back tank and now I do not think I will be going back to sleeves until the cold of the New England fall/winter forces me to.
     It was an interesting walk/run.  Tomorrow there is a 4th of July parade and the parade route is the 2nd half of my run.  Everyone was already putting out chairs and what not to save their spots.  Dodging lawn chairs was not too bad, but it gave me something interesting to do on the walking portions and agility training on the running portions.  Once I got past the maze of lawn furniture I was finished with my training session but i still had about 1/3 of my loop left, so I added 4 or 5 more reps purely to get home faster so I could eat dinner.  The run itself was pretty easy, being a short day.
     Week 2: session 3.  run 2 minutes, walk 2 minutes , repeat 10 times.  This session wasn't bad once I actually got to run it,  it just took me 3 trys.  The 1st attempt (Tuesday) did not happen because I was feeling completely awful both physically and mentally.  I was a total head case this week and I fully admit it.  Attempt #2 (Wednesday) also did not happen.  It was really hot and humid so I was planing on going for the run once it cooled down and got darker out.  A thunder and lightning storm then decided to show its head, so again a no-go.  I was also still being a total head case at this point as well.  Attempt #3 (Thursday) went well but I was a bit stiff in the knees and my left hip, and the compression tights were still awesome.
     Week 3: session 1 (I've made it to week 3!  Wicked exciting!)  Run 3 minutes, walk 2 minutes, repeat 10 times. (Friday)  So running on Thursday definitely affected my long run on Friday.  I do my long runs Friday because its my day off from work so I have the most free time that day.  At this point in time its not a big deal, but i know as the program goes along the long runs get much longer and take considerably more time.  It seems to make sense that I pre-plan for that eventuality.  The running program I am following is quite specific about not running 2 sessions 2 days in a row, and while I understand why, and know better, I did it any way.  My knees totally hated me for it and decided to let me know all throughout the session, and earlier that day, and later that day an the next day, also the day after that.  While by Monday the 11th my knees were merely irritated with me, they seem to have cooled off by today.
     Week 3: session 2 Run went well, nothing much else to say.
     Horribly boring post I know, I have really got to work on making these more interesting.  I suppose the moral of today's blog post is 1: compression tights are wicked awesome, and 2: there is a reason that beginner programs tell you not to do 2 sessions in a row.
Just Keep Running!

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

And we are off

    About 2 weeks ago I decided that i should start running.  Now this was no light decision, I have never really been an athlete, nor has anyone ever thought of me as such. I was not a very athletic child growing up. I was a slow runner, a non-runner really and always at least a little over weight.  I can remember a time in the 4th grade when doing laps around the field when the gym teacher made all the other kids (seriously the entire class) do an extra lap for making fun of me being a lap behind everyone.  In high school I was on the flag team and I remember the coach making the rest of the girls do laps at my pace because I was soo slow.  he wanted us to run together as a team building activity and trust me it was not the most supportive group of teenage girls I was running with.   These 2 stories are just a few out of many that happened to me in the past.  Both incidents as well as many others were really embarrassing even though the gym teacher and coach had the best intentions.  As soon as I graduated high school and escaped gym class, my official stance on running was "I don't run"  Recently I have been working to loose weight, be more active and healthy (successfully).  I set a goal for the Disney princess half marathon.  I figure if I schedule a very expensive vacation around running a race i cant afford to let myself get behind in my goals.  I am not a "runner" I was never a "runner", but I have decided that I will be a "runner."  I don't even call myself a runner yet because I am just starting out and am in the process of building up my cardiovascular endurance.   I want to be healthy and I want to run this half marathon for myself.  I know when I approach the finish line of that first half marathon I will be remembering all the times I was picked on, made fun of or singled out because I was a slow runner, but I am pretty sure that when I cross that finish line it will be the last thing on my mind for a very long time.
     I am planing on running in the 2013 Disney Princess half marathon.  I would love to be able to run in the 2012 race this up coming February, as it is the 5th year of the event, but many things keep me from being able to do that.  The most prevalent reason is that I can't afford it this year.  Many things such as student loans and the need for a new car have to come first.  I know that in the approximately 8 months until the 2012 event I could be in shape and conditioned enough to run the event without being pulled out for going behind pace, but I would be more comfortable having a full 3 seasons (spring summer fall) of actual road running under my belt.  I plan to run in the winter, but New England winters have a reputation for a very good reason.  My friend Juli, a Disney fanatic, is planing on running the race with me and it everything works out that way it should be a lot of fun.   If for unforeseen circumstances I end up running alone, I will at least have a few official Amy fans at the finish line.
     I have a tendency to jump head first into things, however I always do my research before I dive in.  Running for non-runners seems a fairly simple concept: put on sneakers and just go run.  That is apparently why non-runners generally stay non-runners.   Running is a much more complicated activity to get into than it seems.   I did some Internet research, but it was all quite muddled together.  The 2 main points I got everywhere were that i would have to start off slow, and descriptions of what my urine is supposed to look like if I am properly hydrated (seriously, that last one is in just about every other article on running.)  So I purchased a book on running for beginners and downloaded it to my nook.  The beginning Runner's Handbook is actually a pretty good over all book for beginners, and it's written by Canadians and Canadians are pretty cool.  It covers just about all the basic information on running that 99% of beginning runners need to know before starting to run.   I was most impressed on the information  it gave concerning pregnant women and running.   Its not information I need, but its also a group that i doubt gets a lot of information on running.  The book was sprinkled with 'Runner's Profiles' that helped bring the information the Authors were trying to get across in such a way that the reader could relate.  Anyone wanting to start running, I would recommend this book to you.  In the back of the book it gives a 13 week walk-to-run program, which they refer to through out the entire text.  Run-to-walk programs are very common and apparently work well.  They vary in length of time, and specifics but they are all basically the same.  they start off with alternating short periods of running and longer periods of walking  with 3 sessions per week.  over time the time running increases and walking decreases until eventually you are just running and running for anywhere from 30-60 min in the last week.  The book also had 2-3 other training programs varying in length that focus on just walking, running faster, running longer and various training activities common for runners.
     The Canadian Book (as I will no be referring to it as) as well as 100% of the Internet sources on the topic, recommend being fit professionally for running shoes.  I did this and it went very well.  I have a history of having my toes go numb in sneakers with almost any level of activity, including walking, and that has not been a problem with these shoes.  If you can find a Running specific store that would be the best as I am sure the knowledge of the shoe dept staff at many large sporting goods stores can vary from associate to associate as well as store to store.   I ended up with a pair of Saucony which turns out to be the brand my grandmother used to wear.   They must have stopping making her shoes around 2005 when she passed because I can't find a picture of them on their website.  I will have to look for a picture of her wearing them.
    My next post will be about my 1st official week training with my walk-to-run program.  I am up to date on my training, but behind on my posting.
Keep Running!